AnimatedGif example: remove random

Ultra novice here: Just trying to get the random function removed from the Animated Gif player library sample. I seem to have succeeded by commenting out

// Seed the random number generator
//randomSeed(analogRead(14));

//Serial.begin(115200);

and removing ‘random’ from

int index = random(num_files);

But now it just plays one gif over and over. What’s more strange to me is that it skips over the first one in the list. I know the gifs on my sd card are fine because when randomizing is happening in the default program, it eventually plays all of them. Clearly I’m missing (or need to add) some kind of +1 function somewhere to make it progress down the list.

?

Thanks!

I added sequential support and browsing in my fork of it, you can find it here:

it includes other changes that you may or may not work for you, but you can see the changes to the main file and take them if you’d like.

Hi John,

I think you uncovered a bug in the AnimatedGifs sketch. Try changing this line:

int index = random(num_files);

to this (adding static to the beginning, so index stays unchanged throughout each loop):

static int index = random(num_files);

You can then replace random(num_files); with 0.

If you want to make sure the first GIF is played first, and not the second GIF, change the first line of loop:

static unsigned long futureTime = millis() + (DISPLAY_TIME_SECONDS * 1000);

I haven’t checked out Marc’s fork of the AnimatedGifs sketch, but it probably has a lot of this stuff sorted out already, you might want to check it out instead.

Thanks so much for the super fast response!! I used your changes Louis, that did the trick, it plays them sequentially. I looked at Marc’s a bit, but I confess my uber-newbie coding eye understands only about 25% of what I’m looking at.

Now I’ve got to figure out how to incorporate this vl53l0x I’ve got into my gif playing.