Background brightness FastLED_Functions sketch

As a beginner I succeeded setting up the hardware using SmartLed 4 with Teensy 3.4 and Adafruit 32x64 LED matrix. All the example sketches run perfect. For some testing I now have modified the FastLED_Functions sketch (see code) so only the background animation is shown. So far this works but I did not succeed increasing the overall brightness of the background. Some help would be appreciated.

#include <SmartLEDShieldV4.h>
#include <SmartMatrix3.h>
#include <FastLED.h>

#define COLOR_DEPTH 24
const uint8_t kMatrixWidth = 64;
const uint8_t kMatrixHeight = 32;
const uint8_t kRefreshDepth = 36;
const uint8_t kDmaBufferRows = 4; rate
const uint8_t kPanelType = SMARTMATRIX_HUB75_32ROW_MOD16SCAN; 
const uint8_t kMatrixOptions = (SMARTMATRIX_OPTIONS_NONE);
const uint8_t kBackgroundLayerOptions = (SM_BACKGROUND_OPTIONS_NONE);
const uint8_t kScrollingLayerOptions = (SM_SCROLLING_OPTIONS_NONE);

SMARTMATRIX_ALLOCATE_BUFFERS(matrix, kMatrixWidth, kMatrixHeight, kRefreshDepth, kDmaBufferRows, kPanelType, kMatrixOptions);
SMARTMATRIX_ALLOCATE_BACKGROUND_LAYER(backgroundLayer, kMatrixWidth, kMatrixHeight, COLOR_DEPTH, kBackgroundLayerOptions);
SMARTMATRIX_ALLOCATE_SCROLLING_LAYER(scrollingLayer, kMatrixWidth, kMatrixHeight, COLOR_DEPTH, kScrollingLayerOptions);

static uint16_t x;
static uint16_t y;
static uint16_t z;
uint16_t speed = 10;
uint16_t scale = 20;
uint8_t noise[kMatrixWidth][kMatrixHeight];

void setup() {
  Serial.begin(38400);
  Serial.println("Start (setup)");
  delay(1000);
  matrix.addLayer(&backgroundLayer); 
  matrix.addLayer(&scrollingLayer); 
  matrix.begin();
  backgroundLayer.setBrightness(255);

x = random16();
  y = random16(); 
  z = random16();
}

void fillnoise8() {
  for(int i = 0; i < kMatrixWidth; i++) {
    int ioffset = scale * i;
    for(int j = 0; j < kMatrixHeight; j++) {
      int joffset = scale * j;
      noise[i][j] = inoise8(x + ioffset,y + joffset,z);
    }
  }
  z += speed;
}