SmartLED Shield (V4), Teensy 3.2, 32x32 LED matrix assembly

Hello Everyone,

First of all, I am very VERY VERY new to this stuff so please forgive my ignorance. When explaining stuff to me, please imagine you are talking to a 5 year old. Long story short, my mom is graduating and I thought it would be great to make her an LED graduation cap. I am outlining the steps I am planning on taking and would like some input.

The guides I have looked at thus far include (but not limited to):

I have bought these items thus far:

STEP 1: Assembling the stuff together

1. Put pins into SmartMatrix (See photos below)

1. Attach teensy to SmartMatrix (See photos below)

1. Solder pins onto SmartMatrix
  2. Attach 2x10 pins from SmartMatrix to 2x8 pins on LED matrix (it says input Hub75D).
  3. HELP: On the adafruit tutorial, they show assembling an SD card reader to the SmartMatrix. Can anyone point me the towards the right direction to do this? I am basically wondering which pins to attach the SD card reader to the SmartMatrix.

STEP 2: Powering the assembly
I am very confused on how to power this assembly. Ideally, I am looking to power this assembly via portable USB power supply. Any input would be highly appreciated here. Again, when explaining anything to me, please imagine I am a 5 year old.

STEP 3: Installing Software

1. Download Arduino 1.0.5 or 1.0.6, Teensyduino, SmartMatrix Library
  2. After getting the assembly, try loading up the example file and running a gif. I’ll do more research after the assembly is running.

For now, I am basically looking to assemble this thing. More questions to come after I progress with this.

Also for reference, this is what the LED matrix board looks like

Hi Matt,