Weird Blanking problem

I’m going to be very embarrassed if I’ve missed something already documented about this, but here goes.

I have a modification of FeatureDemo that I started playing with to work my way towards what I actually need to do. I’m using a single 32x64 small panel for testing at the moment. My problem is the display blanks out at odd times. For a particular compile, the blanking seems to be consistent. The problem is, that the oddest things make the blinking stop!

BTW, another tidbit (clue?), when the loop runs with the blanking problem, it takes longer than when there is no blanking, presumably the amount of time the display is blanked.

I’ve attached just about the smallest version of this program that shows the problem, although I’ve seen it a couple of times as I’ve been learning to use these displays. As my attached source code is now, it has the blanking problem. Here is a partial list of the things that ‘fix’ the problem, although it is certainly not complete, for instance, having the Serial.println() somewhere else in loop() might also work, I didn’t test all possibilities.

Having a Serial.println(“.”) at the top of loop() (or any number of Serial.print() lines), but if it’s in setup() it does not work. It is now commented out.

I have reduced the segments down to three at line 135, the last one is my own:
#define DEMO_DRAW_CHARACTERS 1
#define DEMO_MONO_BITMAP 1
#define CC_BITMAP 1
If any one or two of these is not ‘1’, the blanking goes away.

If “USE_ADAFRUIT_GFX_LAYERS” is not defined, the blanking stops, but I need the GFX layers eventually.

On line 96, in my function drawFullScreenBitmap(), I have a superfluous line as the code stands now, which is the “backgroundLayer.fillScreen({ 0,0,0 }); (I was eventually going to add transparency), removing that line makes the blanking stop, but the blanking is happening both when this routine is called, and when it isn’t, so it does not make sense.