Building Fadecandy Server with SmartMatrix Support

So I have been poking at these fadecandy ports for several months on and off now.
I can’t get the fadecandy server to find either a teensy4 with v5 shield or a teensy3.2 with a shield meant for a 3.1 teensy. Either combination works fine as is, once I get them configured. I have been trying to build the server for ubuntu, and keep getting some libudev errors [iirc]. Any advice getting this up and running on a system that isn’t a mac? Thanks :smiley:

[I meant to reply to this post so deleted the other one]

Hi Maddie,

I can’t get the fadecandy server to find either a teensy4 with v5 shield or a teensy3.2 with a shield meant for a 3.1 teensy.

Are you using the modified Fadecandy Server that has support for SmartMatrix?

Either combination works fine as is, once I get them configured

I don’t know what you mean by this

I have been trying to build the server for ubuntu, and keep getting some libudev errors [iirc]

Can you build the normal Fadecandy server? If you post what you’ve tried and the result, maybe I can give feedback, but I don’t typically use Linux and haven’t tried compiling so I have no advice out of the gate

heya!

I am using this one.
I am abe to get the T3.2 and T4 working with the couple of panels I have, is what I meant.

I will try and build the regular fadecandyserver and post output of both here.
The regular FCserver built just fine under ubuntu…

Sorry if it was not clear, I updated my other post to say that I could build the fadecandy normal server on linux.

Trying again in windows. I push the Fadecandy_T4 to a Teensy 4.0, and ran the fcserver.exe Teensy4.json in a admin terminal, still doesnt see it. The T4 shows up with dual serial in Arduino, vs one, so I know it pushed properly…

I made a new thread as this was getting off topic for the general Teensy 4 thread.