Mamamatrix examples errors (rollback to older smartmatrix library?)

Hello people, Im very new to LED matrices, smartkatrix library, and arduino, but am fairly well versed in Processing language. I read an article on creativeapplications.net which piqued my interest entitled “pysicalising a pixel - LED matrix display tutorial” at https://www.creativeapplications.net/processing/physicalising-a-pixel-led-matrix-display-tutorial-document-1-workshop/ (which is now unfortunately behind a paywall but which presents all the examples on Github at https://github.com/ertdfgcvb/MamaMatrix )

I purchased a shield (v4), a teensy 3.6 and all the relevant bits and pieces and ran the smartmatrix library funtion demo without issue, so moved on the above linked examples, my final intention to stream the output of a processing sketch to my LED matrix via serial > teensy, however am running into errors, namely “out of scope” errors

Ive read the migration entry at the smartmatrix library github page, and am still no closer to solving anything. Im only so far trying to run the a1_singlepixel example from the mamamatrix examples, though aim ultimately to be using the a3_serial_rgb_slave example to recieve serial data from another computer.

My question (after all that, sorry for no0bishness here) is: can anyone either point out how i can overcome the errors, point me to somewhere where i can read up on how to do so myself, or would I simply be better off trying to revert to an older version of the smart matrix lbrary wherby the errors wont occur? Im guessing the errors are due to a change i the syntax of the SM library, but cannot be sure.
If it helps the “physicalising a pixel” tutorial was written on [23/05/2019]

Any and all help is much appreciated. I knew id have some difficulties but every step has proved tough so far! Many thanks in advance.